A Hobby not a Career


I have always had a passion for food and photography. I recently discovered that cooking and baking will just be a hobby for me and not a career. Those of you who have been following me for awhile know that I was pretty set on going to Johnson and Wales for a baking and pastry degree.

I have always been interested in pyschology and the way the mind works but I don’t exactly want to be someone’s “shrink”. I really like being in the action of things and using critical thinking. I also like figuring out why people do things that they do. So I researched some pyschology related jobs and came up with an FBI profiler. I know, WAY different than making cupcakes. Have you ever seen the X-Files? It was in season back in the early 90’s. I obviously didn’t watch it because I wasn’t even born yet, but back in tenth grade I got hooked on the show. I love it and it has always been my favorite show since. (I am actually watching the shows a second time recently) Anyways, I have always dreamed about working for the FBI because the X-Files glorified it and made it look like they had a new case out of the office everyday. But I definitely could see myself studying the minds of criminals and the crime committed to try and figure out who the criminal is.

Back to the original topic, I’ve thought about it a lot in the past month and what the future would hold for me and it isn’t what I would like to do day in and day out. On the positive side, I will continue my blog and facebook page because I do love to cook and bake. You can follow me to see me experiment with new recipes or post on my old favorites. If you have a favorite recipe you’d like to share and have me post on, leave a comment below or email me at: achefinthyme@gmail.com. I would love to hear your feedback (including constructive criticism) so I can improve. Thank you to all of my followers and if you are just visiting to see what my blog is about, I would love to have you along on my culinary adventure!

5 thoughts on “A Hobby not a Career

  1. Hey Pip…

    Just sat down to take a break from packing and thought I’d take a minute to e-mail you while I’m resting. Wow, this is a REALLY big career change…I’m surprised! What prompted this?? I’ve often thought that being an FBI profiler would be very interesting, but I know the first time I saw a child or an old person murdered, that’d be the end of it for me! The things that human beings can do to each other are just unimaginable. A couple days ago here near us, they found a naked woman alongside the road and she had a rope around her neck and had been beaten up and had fourth degree burns…the worst you can possibly have. Before she died she was able to tell the police who did it…it was a 23 year old WOMAN!! That’s just horrifying to me. So even though it sounds like a cool job, I know that I really couldn’t do it after all…I’m too much of a softie. You’d have to be really tough to see that kind of stuff day in and day out. Have you ever watched Criminal Minds? They have some pretty twisted sisters on that show…gives you the creeps to think these people are actually walking around out there. I’ve read that a lot of college students don’t make a firm decision on their career path until their sophomore year. The first couple years are basically just the required courses you have to have for any career, so you could use that time to decide what you want to spend your life doing. You don’t have to decide right away. We’re you able to go to Forever 21 and use your gift card?

  2. It’s perfectly ok to change your mind…you may do it again! And that’s ok. You will always have “being a good baker and cook” in your pocket! : )

Leave a Reply

