Squash and Barley Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette


This is going to be an interesting blog, so don’t skip it. It’s WORTH reading. Like how it is worth reading the ingredients in a recipe for a squash and barley salad. I can’t seem to follow directions well which is very important in baking. Cooking, not so much. I think I may have slight ADD or maybe I am just a little air headed. I don’t know. Anyways, hopefully I will get that straightened out before I go off to culinary school so I don’t add 4 sticks of butter when I am only supposed to add 2. I’ll save that story for another time.

So back to the story for today. I did not see all the ingredients for the recipe and I ASSUMED I only needed broccoli, squash, barley, and balsamic vinaigrette which was exciting for my mom. She doesn’t like spending a whole bunch of money on ingredients for one dish. So my mom went to the store and came home with the broccoli I needed. As she walked in the door, I saw the rest of the ingredients I needed for this dish. Major fail. So I made some adjustments. Then I realized the recipe was in grams and celsius which totally excited me even more because I hate math. When I say hate, I mean HATE. I have struggled with it for as long as I can remember. Google saved my life with a converter, thank God for Google or I would have died and you would have missed a great dish!

Squash and Barley Salad
Edited Recipe: BBC Good Food
Method:
Serves 8

Ingredients:
1 cup barley
1 squash, cut into long pieces
2 zucchini, cut into long pieces
3 cups chopped broccoli
1 small red onion, diced
1/3 cup roasted tomatoes
1 tbsp small capers, rinsed
1/3 cup basil, chopped

For the Dressing:
5 tbsp balsamic vinegar
6 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp dijon mustard
1 garlic clove, minced

Heat oven to 395F or 200C. Place the squash and zucchini on a baking tray and toss with olive oil. Roast for 20 mins. Meanwhile, boil the barley for about 25 mins in salted water until tender, but al dente. While this is happening, whisk the dressing ingredients in a small bowl, then season with salt and pepper. Saute onions until tender and add roasted tomatoes, cover and turn heat to low. Drain the barley, then tip it into a bowl and pour over the dressing. Mix well and let it cool.

Boil the broccoli in salted water until just tender, then drain and rinse in cold water. Drain and pat dry. Add the broccoli and remaining ingredients to the barley and mix well. This will keep for 3 days in the fridge and is delicious warm or cold.

Thanks for stopping by achefinthyme.com!

2 thoughts on “Squash and Barley Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette

  1. This looks delish and I can’t wait to try … but how much barley do you use??? I looked over the recipe a few times and unless I missed something don’t see the amount of barley, lol! Also, I’m with you on the cooking vs baking – I don’t follow directions well and prefer to experiment with recipes rather than ‘follow’ them 🙂 Keep cooking and blogging – you are an inspiration! blessings, M

Leave a Reply

