A Recreation of the Caramel Macchiato cupcake


I know those of you who follow my facebook page have been waiting for this post; the recreation of Cupcake’s caramel macchiato cupcake. And I also know lots of you are waiting for the delicious recipe, but it needs one more test round before being completed. So along with this delay, I will give the story behind the cupcake.

Friday afternoon, I was looking around on the Cupcake facebook page when I came across their cupcake of the day; Caramel Macchiato.That immediately caught my attention and I wanted to try and recreate the cupcake. I think this was my second time making homemade cupcakes, I am not usually the baking type but I love to make cupcakes. So I decided to give it a try. I based my own coffee cupcake recipe off of a basic vanilla cupcake recipe out of the cupcake book, “200 cupcakes”. I knew imediately by looking at the ingredient list that there was something missing. But I trusted the recipe and went ahead and started with the cupcake mixture adding two tablespoons of coffee to the vanilla mixture. I put them into the oven and twenty minutes later when they came out, they were not exactly what I’d hoped for. They were a little dry but I didn’t have time to think about what could’ve gone wrong because I had to babysit in ten minutes. Frustrated and disappointed, I left the house and later came home at midnight, sitting there frosting the cupcakes trying to figure out the book’s mistake in not one but all of the recipes.

As I was laying in bed, it finally came to me, it was missing oil! Most cakes have a little oil in it because oil is a fat and fats are used to keep baked goods moist. How could I have not figured that out sooner? Here is my edited version of the recipe which I will try hopefully again soon. To end on a good note, my caramel buttercream icing rocked! It is addictingly good.

Caramel Macchiato Cupcakes (edited)

yield: 12 cupcakes

Coffee cupcake:
-10 tbsp lightly salted butter, softened
-2/3 cup sugar
-1 1/3 cup self-rising flour
-3 eggs
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-2 tbsp instant coffee
-1 tbsp vegetable oil

Line a cupcake pan with twelve liners. Put all cake ingredients in a bowl and beat with a handheld electric mixer for 1-2 minutes, until light and creamy. Divide the cake mixture between paper liners. Bake in a preheated oven , 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes.

Caramel Buttercream:
-10 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
-2 cups confectioners’ sugar
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-2 teaspoons hot water
-4 tbsp caramel syrup
-crushed Werther’s caramel coffee candies

Put the butter and confectioners’ sugar in a bowl and beat well with a wooden spoon or handheld electric mixer until smooth and creamy. Add the vanilla extract and hot water and beat again until smooth. Garnish with crushed Werther’s caramel coffee candies.

*recipes based off of the vanilla cupcake and buttercream recipes out of “200 cupcakes” by Joanna Farrow.

9 thoughts on “A Recreation of the Caramel Macchiato cupcake

  1. I just got a new Kitchen Aid mixer for Christmas. It’s still in the box waiting to get moved into our new house. These may well be the first things I try to make when we settle in. I definitely want to know how the follow up batch turns out. The icing sounds amazing!!

Leave a Reply

