Grilled Chicken Salad with Focaccia Bread


My culinary arts class has just begun our baking and pastry section of the year which is truly not my strong suit. Yesterday we were told to make two loaves of focaccia bread and thankfully with my group’s help it turned out wonderfully. Otherwise, if I was on my own it would probably end up like my pumpkin bread disaster; too much flour! I have had some other baking disasters which is why I like the culinary side of the restaurant industry and not baking and pastry. Although I can make some pretty cute cupcakes, if I do say so myself.

Anyways, we got to eat some in class and take some home! So I decided to have it with dinner when it’s nice and fresh. Let me tell you the wonderful smell of homemade baked bread makes your mouth water! The grilled chicken salad was made because my mom is starting her new year’s resolution a little late; eating healthy. Eating healthy may seem like it’s boring and tasteless, but you are completely wrong! Nowadays, we have some many options to choose from; like my personal favorite, quinoa! Portobellos can be sauteed and they taste like steak! Even if it’s as small as changing the normal bag of chips in your lunch to a small container of nuts, you are improving your diet! So don’t give up on the diet just yet, I have more healthy, delicious recipes headed your way!

Tonight’s dinner consisted of: romaine lettuce, spinach, grilled chicken, mandarin oranges, craisins, apples, almonds, and a raspberry walnut vinagrette, YUM!

5 thoughts on “Grilled Chicken Salad with Focaccia Bread

  1. That looks delish! Will you share your foccacia bread recipe with us? I’ve been looking for a good one! I used to go to this wonderful restaurant in Honolulu, Ryan’s, and they had the most amazing foccacia bread – still makes my mouth water just thinking about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

